Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)
(Description below)


Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)

The Distinguished Flying Cross was established in 1926.  From that time, until the outbreak of WW II it was used primarily to recognize the achievements of aviation pioneers.  Charles Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart were among the first to receive the award.  In 1927 award of the DFC became restricted to military personnel.  Award criteria now demands heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in aerial flight.

The Distinguished Flying Cross, section 3749, title 10, United States Code , was established by act of Congress 2 July 1926

Awarded to any person who, while serving in any capacity with the U.S. Navy or the U.S. Marine Corps, distinguishes himself by heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in aerial flight.  To justify this decoration for heroism, an act in the face of danger, well above those actions performed by others engaged in similar flight operations, is required.  To justify for achievement, the results accomplished must be so exceptional as to render them conspicuous among those accomplished by others involved in similar circumstances.  Establishment of a new record does not necessarily qualify as an extraordinary achievement in aerial flight.

Information provided by:
    The Marine Corps Wives Web Site

Back Browser